Selfishness!


Selfishness, self-centeredness! That, we think, is the root of our troubles. Driven by a hundred forms of fear, self-delusion, self-seeking, and self-pity, we step on the toes of our fellows and they retaliate. Sometimes they hurt us, seemingly without provocation, but we invariably find that at some time in the past we have made decisions based on self which later placed us in a position to be hurt. Alcoholics Anonymous pg 62

 

If you are wise and understand God’s ways, prove it by living an honorable life, doing good works with the humility that comes from wisdom. But if you are bitterly jealous and there is selfish ambition in your heart, don’t cover up the truth with boasting and lying. For jealousy and selfishness are not God’s kind of wisdom. Such things are earthly, unspiritual, and demonic. For wherever there is jealousy and selfish ambition, there you will find disorder and evil of every kind. But the wisdom from above is first of all pure. It is also peace loving, gentle at all times, and willing to yield to others. It is full of mercy and good deeds. It shows no favoritism and is always sincere. And those who are peacemakers will plant seeds of peace and reap a harvest of righteousness. James 3:13-18 NLT

 

 Father God, I thank you for this day. I pray Father that you would free me of the bondage of self and remove any jealousy that has entered my heart. I pray Father that I would walk in your wisdom and maintain an attitude of humility. Help me to be gentle at all times and with all people today knowing that you show no favoritism nor should I. Help me to full of mercy and good deeds and to live my life to honor you. In Jesus Name, Amen!

2 responses to “Selfishness!

  1. It always amazes me how deep my selfishness and self-centeredness can run. I have always had to watch this in me. I have had to do battle with this, and hate to admit that I have walk away with my share of brused ego. Thank God that He is my teacher, my father, and my KING.

Leave a comment